Weekly Reflection

This week drew my design on the under glaze and started carving out the design.

For this design, I wanted it to be similar to a mandala. I wanted a pattern and repetition, but more towards the simple side. I went on Pinterest as a source for inspiration. I wanted to add some Filipino patterns so used Pinterest to look at the different patterns that are common. I’m not sure how accurate they are to actual Filipino patterns since I know there can be similarities or variations that are common in other cultures.

I would say that I’ve improved my usage of the tool for sgraffito. I remember when I created my first project I would end up chipping many areas and I had to add more glaze and start over. Now that I’ve had some experience, it makes this project somewhat more easier for me.

While working on this project, I’d keep the sketch next to me so I can compare how the two look. There are certain areas where I have to think about changing or leaving the same once it’s been transferred onto the glaze. I’m just gonna go with the flow of things and if I think I should change something, I’ll just change it as I work.

I experimented a bit with this section. The middle part with the somewhat flowery shape, I tried alternating with the black and white.

I decided against it and just had the whole thing as white.

This is what I have overall. My goal is to finish the sgraffito some time next week.

Leave a comment