Reflection

This week I continued doing sketches. I focused on side profiles, positioning the body and there are a few random doodles mixed in.

These are some of the random doodles I started off with this week. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to focus on, so everything is kind of messy.

I started throwing around the idea of working on side profiles. I have a difficult time drawing side profiles, especially when it comes to facial features. I did two profiles at an upward angle, and two profiles facing downward. I was thinking of making a formal piece with two people, one facing up and the other down, but before I start that I want to continue practicing until I’m satisfied with the positioning and details.

The next part is a mix of positioning the body and trying out expressions. I was using technology as a tool by going onto Pinterest and looking for references to help guide my sketches. I attempted drawing someone crying but the first one I did (center, with no head) looked wacky. Instead of someone crying, it ended up looking like someone was yawning. I knew I had to improve it so I looked on Pinterest and compared a few different references to get a better idea of what I want to do. I looked at a few references of actual people crying, but didn’t really like the results. I decided to use a more anime style to help me draw the expression, and I had an easier time trying to sketch the expression out.

These are some of the poses I started working on. The reference I was using for the first one had a sort of muscular build and I had some difficulty with that. The proportions on all of the sketches are off, so that’s another thing I need to work on when drawing.

Here is a continuation of poses. Worked on a squatting position that could use some work. I had some trouble with positioning the fingers. I don’t want to make the hand super detailed but I still want to convey the emotion of reaching out.

Here’s another mess of sketches. I wasn’t really sure what to focus on so it ended up being a mixture of what I’ve been working on. The one thing that wasn’t drawn by me is the full body sketch in the center. My friend showed me their process of drawing bodies since I told them I had trouble with proportions. Next time I’ll try to incorporate their style when trying to draw and see if it’ll help me improve.

Last thing I worked on were doodles that my friends suggested. I was getting tired (and kind of frustrated) of working on the poses and needed something light hearted to work on. Everything on this page was pretty goofy, but I still enjoyed drawing things my friends suggested.

Leave a comment